Calling 9-1-1

I leave Sunday… This Sunday. The feeling hasn’t sunken in yet, despite telling many people that  question when they see me around town. I’ve been trying to get the last things accomplished and I know I’ll be running around like a chicken with its head cut off soon enough. A lot has seemed to happen recently, so hopefully these next few days will go smoothly.

Worked my last days at both my jobs yesterday. What a great way to spend Valentine’s Day working 12 hours and being sick. I’ve been achy and going back and forth between sweats and chills. I’ve had the flu shot this year, so I know it’s not that so just loading up on the Advil and Tylenol. I have reached the maximum amount of Tylenol that can be taken in a 24 hour period. Usually I’m a hands-off kinda person and believe the body should care for itself since that’s what it was made to do, but I am trying to get over this ASAP because of my trip and I don’t want to be too sick and can’t visit my grandmother. Don’t want to get her sick. Just woke up from a nap, so currently feeling better.

Today instead of working at the office, I had to go to Macon to get re-certified in CPR. I’m hoping to get to work the last session of camp this summer, and if that is the case, when I return from Vienna, the next day I’ll have to leave to work at camp for two weeks. Since CPR is a necessity and I like to plan everything out in advance, it only made sense to get re-certified before I left. I had the same instructor I’ve had the past 3 of 4 years I’ve gotten certified. Due to us being “buddies”– probably because I was the only one in the class under the age of 40– I was the automatic partner to help demonstrate the recovery position, back thrusts, etc. I hate having all eyes on me in a classroom, but I guess every uncomfortable situation will only help us become a little more comfortable in the future. All went well though and we got out early so I continued home to Milledgeville to complete some last-minute errands and go to an orthodontic appointment that afternoon. On the way home, had some interesting events. Left Macon with knowledge from one class, to having to use knowledge from another class I took years ago: Defensive Driving. I noticed this black silverado truck infront of me crossing the yellow line. At first, didn’t think anything of it because figured it was maybe trying to pass car infront of him and was getting good view to see his chances of passing sometime soon. WRONG. As I continued on Hwy 49 behind him, I noticed he kept going from driving off the road, partly on the dirt and grass, to crossing the yellow line with oncoming traffic. It was NOT a one time thing like we all do where maybe you got a little distracted once, or you were answering that phone call and noticed you were driving a little too much on the right side. No this guy was ALL OVER THE PLACE. There was a chance to pass him once but I figured it’d be better to be behind a driver that was drunk/senile than to attempt passing him and that be one of the times he goes all over the line. It was so bad that I swear he was drunk or senile. It was older man — probably little older than my dad– so it wasn’t some 16 year old trying to learn to drive. This was dangerous. Called my mom and asked how I would go about reporting this. Never have been so worried about safety of other drivers as I was today. She didn’t know, so called my dad with no answer. Called Chase and finally called Dad again and he answered this time. He told me to call 9-1-1. Haha I’ve never called 9-1-1 before in my life! I was so scared to because you’re always taught as a kid only do that for life or death emergencies and didn’t want to get in trouble for misusing it… but I did it. Talked to operator, gave description of truck, where he was headed, license plate number, etc. Hopefully a nearby cop was able to get this person off the road. Between all my calls, one individual that didn’t know what I was driving so slow passed me and got behind this truck and finally realized why I was keeping my distance. This car blew their horn at the truck to no avail and even witnessed this truck crossing the line once to almost hit oncoming traffic. Crazy stuff.

Enough of this blabbering. Back to packing. Parents want me packed for Vienna and camp before I go and visit my grandmother tomorrow. Tootles.

This entry was posted in Travel. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Calling 9-1-1

  1. Catherine says:

    Yikes! That is totally crazy! I would be freaked out calling 911 too. As a child they really scared us about that stuff I guess. You definitely did the right thing though. =)
    I can’t believe you’re packing! AH!!! It’s so close. I remember talking about you leaving freshman year during our late night chats. When did we get SO old?! We better talk while you are away. I want to hear about everything!!!!

    Catherine

Leave a Reply

